Due to cleft lip and palate, the affected children often have depressed nostrils which greatly affect the appearance of the patient. Though correction can be achieved via rhinoplasty surgery, it would ideally be performed after puberty because early surgery may hinder nasal growth.

Considering that before surgical revision, i.e. between 0-17 years of age, patients may feel bad for their flat and asymmetric nostril(s), HKACLP launched “Nasal splints for Everyone” project providing for the members nasal splints follow-up service to help improve the shapes of their noses.

In this project, nasal splints are issued and followed up by Mr. Patrick Bok (former United Christian Hospital maxillofacial prosthetic technician) of Bok’s Maxillofacial Laboratory, who explains the application of nasal splints and will also tailor appropriate sizes of nasal splints for children as they grow up.

Recently, we have noticed that some children having broad columellae cannot wear standard nasal splints; some patients of unilateral cleft lip do not require to apply double-tube nasal splints; and after recovering from rhinoplasty, adult patients still need to wear nasal splints to maintain the shapes of their noses. In view of these, four new types of nasal splints are introduced. At present, the following nasal splints are provided :

  • STANDARD Nasal Splints:  For children of 3 months and above who have received lip repair. There are 2 holes on the base plate of the nasal splints which are used to fit an elastic band (see photo). The advantages of it are: (1) avoid problem arising from sensitive skin that may be caused by adhesive tape which is used to keep the nasal splints in place; (2) easier fitting; (3) nasal splints are not easily lost.

STANDARD Nasal Splints

  • WIDE BRIDGE Nasal Splints: For children of 3 months+ after lip repair who have broad columella and cannot wear standard nasal splints. Wide bridge nasal splints will help giving them an early support for shaping their nostrils.

WIDE BRIDGE Nasal Splints

  • SINGLE TUBE Nasal Splints: Designed for unilateral cleft lip & palate children with frequent runny nose or nasal congestion so as to give them comfort fitting.

SINGLE TUBE Nasal Splints

  • INVISIBLE Nasal Splints: It is designed to help maintain the nasal shape for youth and adult patients after rhinoplasty. As there will be some loss of correction after the nasal surgery, invisible nasal splints will help patients’ noses look more symmetrical when the splints are worn during the day at work or at school.

INVISIBLE Nasal Splints

  • “-1-TYPE STANDARD Nasal Splints”: The smallest model available currently, designed specifically for newborn child patients with incomplete cleft lip and normal nasal passage

"-1-TYPE STANDARD Nasal Splint"

The above five types of nasal splints help molding and maintaining the shape of nose for patients from infant to adult.

The service was sponsored by China Light & Power Co. Ltd. between April 2007 and March 2013. Now HKACLP is seeking for funding to support the service.

Lastest News


More

由於唇顎裂緣故,患者鼻翼扁塌,影響外觀。但是,鼻部矯形手術是在患者發育完成後進行才較為最理想,過早的鼻部矯形可能會阻礙患者的鼻部發育。

有鑑於0至17歲鼻部矯形手術前,扁塌的鼻翼會使患者感到困擾,協會推出跟進式鼻托服務,讓患者在接受鼻部矯形手術前,配戴適當之鼻托,以承托鼻翼,幫助改善鼻部扁塌情況。

「一人一鼻托」工作坊由卜氏頜面修復體配製室之卜榮紹先生(前聯合醫院頜面修復體技師)主持,主要服務包括為患兒量度及選配大小適中的標準型號鼻托、講解使用方法,並跟進配戴進度。

近年,我們觀察到部份患兒由於鼻小柱較一般孩子為寬,以至兩個鼻孔距離較大,不能配戴標準型號鼻托;同時,有些單側唇顎裂患兒其實不一定需要配戴雙管鼻托;再者,一些成人患者在鼻部矯形手術康復後仍需繼續配戴鼻托鞏固鼻形。有見及此,我們與卜氏頜面修復體配製室卜榮紹先生商討改良,因應患者的不同年齡及需要,增添了四款新鼻托,現時本會提供之鼻托如下:

  • 標準型鼻托 ── 適合3個月以上、已接受補唇手術的患兒配戴,「標準型鼻托」原身設有一塊小板,板上有兩個圓孔以供穿上橡筋配戴,其優點為:(1)無需要使用巨形膠布貼面固定鼻托以致皮膚敏感;(2)配戴方便;及(3)不易遺失。

標準鼻托

  • 加闊鼻橋鼻托 ── 適合3個月以上、已接受補唇手術但因兩個鼻孔距離較寬而不能配戴標準型號鼻托的患兒使用,使他們也能夠在補唇手術後開始配戴鼻托,及早矯正鼻形。

加闊鼻托

  • 單管鼻托 ── 專為單側唇顎裂患兒及經常流涕、鼻塞的患兒而設,可減少配戴鼻托時的不適。

單管鼻托

  • 隱形鼻托 ── 專為已接受鼻部矯形手術的青年及成人患者而設計,因鼻部矯形手術傷口癒合後鼻部一般會出現或多或少的「回彈(下塌)」,而鼻托有助鞏固術後鼻形,改善偏歪情況,令鼻部看來較為對稱。隱形鼻托的優點是配戴後不易為人察覺,不會影響外觀,方便患者在日常工作或上課時使用。

隱形鼻托

  • 「-1號標準型鼻托」──  是目前最細型號的鼻托,專為不全裂唇但鼻孔完整的初生患兒而設。

「-1號標準型鼻托」

以上五款鼻托能照顧患者由0歲至成人的鼻部矯形需要,幫忙他們術患者鼻翼扁塌,影響外觀。但是,鼻部矯形手術是在患者發育完成後進行才較為最理想,過早的鼻部矯形可能會阻礙患者的鼻部發育。

這項服務於2007年4月至2013年3月由中華電力有限公司贊助,現協會正尋求其他基金資助以繼續提供這服務。

「鼻托工作坊」

唇顎裂患兒鼻部扁塌,影響外觀,但鼻部整形手術需在發育完成後(約18歲)進行才較為理想,而鼻托可在接受鼻部整形手術前幫助患兒承托鼻翼,改善扁塌的情況。此外,成人唇顎裂患者在鼻部整形手術後配戴鼻托亦有助固定術後鼻型。鼻托工作坊於每個月最後一個星期三舉行,由頜面修復體技師
卜榮紹先生主持,為患童/患者量度及配發大
小適中的鼻托、講解使用方法及跟進配戴。
    
日期:28/3/2018(星期三)
時間:7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
地點:協會會址
對象:已接受補唇之患兒及鼻部整形後的患者
  
查詢及報名請電 2794 1915

最新消息


More