Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Project

Born with congenital cleft lip and palate, patients have to undergo primary surgical corrections such as lip repair and palate repair during the first year of age. When they grow up, some of them may have their mid faces underdeveloped due to interference of facial growth from the cleft deformity. This facial difference undermines patients’ self-esteem and self-confidence, therefore, they may require secondary surgical corrections to give them normal faces and functions.

Since secondary revisions are regarded as “non-emergent”, “not the must” and “cosmetic” surgeries, they will not be put on the top of the priority list in public hospitals. As the majority of patients cannot get surgical treatments from public hospitals, some of them turn to private plastic surgeons for help. However, not every family can afford the huge expenses, and thus some adult patients have not yet been treated.

In view of the members’ great demands for secondary surgical corrections and the slim chance of seeking treatment in public hospitals, HKACLP co-organize with Hong Kong Multidisciplinary & Holistic Centre for Cleft Lip and Palate (HKMHCCLP) at Evangel Hospital a “Cleft Lip & Palate Treatment Project”. Details of the project are as follows:

  • Offering multi-disciplinary treatments by specialists of plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, ENT, orthodontics & speech therapy.
  • Providing secondary revision surgeries, such as alveolar bone grafting, orthognathic surgery, velopharygeal flap surgery, lip & nose revision.
  • Providing primary surgeries such as lip repair and palate repair, as well as fitting of nasoalveolar moulding.
  • Participants of the project must be members of HKACLP and register for treatments through HKACLP
  • Participants of the project may apply for a special waiver, which is at half of the original price.

Up till July 2013, the medical team of HKMHCCLP has carried out over 30 surgeries / procedures and 26 patients are treated from this Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Project.

Before and After Surgeries

Messages of Thanks

QR Code of Evangel Hospital

【Let LOVE Continue — Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Fund】

Since “Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Project” has been launched in June 2012, over 20 patients have received surgeries and treatments. They are very happy with their new looks and grateful for the treatments as well as the special offer rendered by HKMHCCLP. Some of the beneficiaries make free donations, or even donate the whole reduced amount in a bid to help other patients in need.

Since private surgery/treatment is very expensive, even at a half-price discount, it is still a considerable amount of money that most of the patients cannot afford. Moreover, it is impossible for us to apply any charitable fund, which aims to maximize the number of beneficiaries for every grant, to sponsor the treatment costs for the patients with financial difficulties. Therefore, the Executive Board of HKACLP has resolved to set aside the above donations to form 【Let LOVE Continue – Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Fund】 and calls on the benefited patients, members of the Association, and people in the community to donate and help grow the fund so that the patients in need may get financial assistance for their treatments. Up till July 2013 the fund has an aggregated sum of $66,000.

The Fund will offer to eligible member patients from low-earning or CSSA families subsidies from 10-30% according to individual situation. Application for can be made before or during the treatments.

Through establishment of 【Let LOVE Continue – Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Fund】, we hope that the love of HKMHCCLP medical team to cleft lip and palate patients will continue among the members as well as in the society, giving the patients from families of very limited means lights of hope!

Let LOVE Continue – Cleft Lip and Palate Treatment Fund Donation Leaflet

Lastest News


More

唇颚裂治疗计划

由于唇颚裂是先天性的缺陷,患者虽然在出生的头一年接受了第一期的唇、颚修补,但随着成长,面容会有变化。部份患者在成年后可能会有上颚发育不足,中面凹陷,因而形成「倒岌」的情况,这不但影响外观及唇颚功能,亦会对患者构成心理困扰,影响他们的自信。故此,第二期矫形手术对唇颚裂患者非常重要,可帮助他们提升唇颚功能及改善外观。

然而,由于第二期矫形手术被视为「非紧急」「非必需」及「美容」手术,故公营医院对这类治疗并没有充份的支援。在公营医疗体系得不到治疗,部份家长惟有向私人执业的医生求助,但高昂的手术费用却并非每个家庭所能负担。许多经济有困难的患者只能望门兴叹,虽然已届成年,但外观始终得不到改善。

有鉴于唇颚裂患者对「第二期外科治疗」需求甚殷,但寻求治疗又困难重重,协会于2012年6月,与播道医院的「香港兔唇与裂颚综合医疗中心」合作推出「唇颚裂治疗计划」,为患者提供唇颚裂综合治疗服务。计划详情:

  • 唇颚裂综合治疗包括:整形外科、口腔颌面外科、耳鼻喉科、矫齿科及语言治疗等专科。
  • 专为唇颚裂患者提供二期手术,如:牙床植骨、颚骨矫正、颚咽瓣膜、唇鼻整形等手术。
  • 附设第一期手术,如:补唇和补颚手术;及提供鼻颚矫正器NAM服务。
  • 参加者需为香港兔唇裂颚协会会员并经由协会报名参加。
  • 参加者可以申请减免半费。

至2013年7月,播道医院医疗团队已进行了三十多项手术及疗程,共有二十六人藉这唇颚裂治疗计划获得医治。

播道医院「唇颚裂治疗计划」會診

「唇颚裂治疗计划」手术前后相片分享

接受治疗者的感谢信

播道医院 QR条玛

【爱‧延续 唇颚裂治疗基金】

「唇颚裂治疗计划」自2012年6月推行以来,已有二十多名患者接受了手术及治疗,他们对于外观得到改善均感到非常高兴,并十分感激香港兔唇与裂颚综合医疗中心医疗团队的医治和减费,部份受惠者家庭按自己心意或把手术费优惠之差额捐出款项,期望可帮助其它有需要的患者。

由于私家手术费用高昻,患者即使获减免半费,但负担仍然相当沉重,并不是每个患者能负担。同时,协会亦没可能为有需要接受治疗但经济上有困难的会员成功申请到坊间那些以受惠者人数多寡作主要衡量准则的慈善基金。故此,协会执行委员会决定以这些捐款成立【爱‧延续 唇颚裂治疗基金】,并呼吁协会会员、曾经受惠的家庭,及社会人士慷慨解囊,热心捐助,使基金壮大,好让有需要的家庭可以得到资助。截至2013年7月,唇颚裂治疗基金共收到捐款$66,000。

基金将按个别情况给予每个合资格患者10-30%的手术费资助,有经济困难的家庭(包括低收入及领取综援的家庭)可在接受治疗前或期间提出申请。

透过成立【爱‧延续 唇颚裂治疗基金】,协会希望承传医疗团队对唇颚裂患者的关爱,让这份「爱心」在会内外延续下去,为家境困乏的患者燃点新希望!

爱‧延续 唇颚裂治疗基金捐款单张

最新消息


More