Being a registered non profit organization and charitable institution exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance, Hong Kong Association for Cleft Lip and Palate is the one-one in Hong Kong that provide support services for patients with cleft lip/palate and their parents / caretakers, as well as pregnant mothers bearing affected babies.  We are also members of Hong Kong Council of Social Service, Alliance for Patients Organizations and Hong Kong Committee on Children’s Rights.

We aim to gather the patients and parents in the territory under one roof and provide a wide range of services designed specifically for them to ensure healthy physical and psychological growth of the patients.

Our services include: counseling service ; consultation hotline; hospital & home visits to affected newborn babies and patients after surgeries; newborn patients’ parent groups; providing on sale and lending of specially designed milk bottles and caring items; feeding training; medical & special topic seminars; sharing sessions about surgeries/treatments; district mutual-help groups; school and community educational activities; parent-child educational programmes; interest classes for caretakers; network building recreational activities; providing cleft lip & palate baby caretaking information; publication of information leaflets, newsletter & special journal; offering books, newsletters, newspaper clips, video-tapes for borrowing.

Our follow-up service projects include:

  • Non-surgical correction for newborn CLP babies – Give guidance to parents on application of lip tape and nasal elevator which help to reduce the severity of initial cleft lip, cleft alveolar, as well as nasal deformity, that may facilitate surgical repairs to achieve a better result.
  • Nasal splint follow-up service – In cooperation with maxillofacial laboratory we provide nasal splint follow-up service to help correct the patients’ collapsed nostrils so as to improve their appearance.
  • Resident Speech Therapy Service – In cooperation with a children development centre we provide follow-up speech therapy to correct speech problems of cleft lip and palate children during the golden learning period (18 months – 6 years of age) and help them to catch up the normal learning pace. Between October 2016 and September 2017 this service is sponsored by JEMS Learning House.
  • “Along the Way with You” District Support Service Team – Providing by trained veteran parent volunteers ‘one-to-one’ experience sharing and emotional support to help new parents taking care of their cleft lip and palate babies.
  • 【Cleft Lip & Palate Treatment Charity Project】- Jointly organized with “Hong Kong Multidisciplinary & Holistic Centre for Cleft Lip and Palate” of Evangel Hospital. This project aims to help the patients of 18 years up, who has been waiting for treatment at public hospitals for over three years but not yet rendered the service, to receive at half cost secondary revision surgeries so as to give them normal faces and functions before they start to work. Besides, 【Let Love Continue-Cleft Lip & Palate Treatment Fund】was established to provide financial assistance, 10 to 30% for each surgery, to the patients from CSSA families who wish to participate the above treatment project. The fund mainly comes from donations by beneficiaries of 【Cleft Lip & Palate Treatment Project】.
  • “Love can change Life” Social Education Project  – We hold an array of social educational activities including: printing various promotion leaflets, posting & up-dating on website information about orofacial clefts, organizing social education exhibitions, displaying educational posters on MTR platforms and producing promotion video for Roadshow, which aim to increase the parents’ knowledge about clefts, how non-surgical lip & nose molding for new born affected babies can help improve their appearance, and the one-stop service provided by HKACLP so as to encourage pregnant mothers to accept their unborn cleft lip and palate babies.  Besides, we enhance the understanding and acceptance of the general public towards the patients so as to foster an inclusive society with equal opportunities to the every one of us.

We do not have subvention of any kind, 70% of our fund comes from Flag Day fund raising activities and donations by members of the public, the rest from application for funding on project basis.

Lastest News


More

香港兔唇裂颚协会是本港唯一一个专为唇颚裂患儿和其家属,与及怀有唇颚裂胎儿的家长提供支援服务的註册非牟利病人组织。本会为香港税务局核准接受慈善捐款的团体;并为香港社会服务联会、香港病人组织联盟及香港儿童权利委员会的成员。

本会致力把本港的患儿和家长聚集在同一屋簷下,藉著多元化的服务给予他们支持和协助,使患儿/患者得到全面的照顾及正常的身心发展。

我们的服务包括:面谈辅导;电话谘询热线;医院探访新生及手术後的患儿;新生患儿家长小组;提供患儿专用的餵食用具及护理用品;餵哺患儿训练;医疗及专题讲座;手术分享会;地区互助小组;学校及社区教育活动;亲子及儿童教育活动;照顾者兴趣班;会员维繫康乐活动;提供护理手册及照顾患儿的资料;出版会讯、特刊及资料单张;提供借阅:书籍、期刊、剪报、影带及录音带等。

我们的跟进式服务计划包括:

  • 新生患儿非手术性矫形指导服务 - 教导家长於唇颚裂患儿出生後首三个月内正确使用唇贴和鼻鈎,收窄患儿的唇裂丶颚裂及牙床裂的罅隙,并将扁塌鼻翼软骨塑出弧度,使补唇手术更为畅顺,使术後患儿有更对称的唇丶鼻。
  • 跟进式鼻托服务 –与颔面修复体配製室合作为会员提供跟进式鼻托服务,以协助患儿/患者矫正扁塌的鼻翼,改善外观。
  • 驻会言语治疗服务 –与儿童学习及发展顾问合作为会员提供言语治疗服务。在1岁半至6岁黄金学习期,帮助患儿矫正因唇颚裂缺陷导致的言语障碍,使他们能赶上适龄学习进度。此服务计划於2016年10月至2017年9月由JEMS Learning House 资助。
  • 伴你同行 唇颚裂患儿家庭支援服务队 – 由经过训练的资深家长义工提供「单对单」跟进式的同路人经验分享及情绪支援,协助新家长照顾患儿。
  • 「唇颚裂治疗慈善计划」– 与播道医院之「香港兔唇与裂颚医疗中心」合办,目的是为那些在公院轮候超过三年而未获治疗的成年患者提供半费的第二期唇颚裂治疗,让他们在踏入社会工作之前能够得到外观及功能上的改善,以助他们增加自信及融入社会。並成立【爱‧延续】唇颚裂治疗基金 – 为那些希望参与以上治疗计划但经济有困难的患者提供每项手术10-30%的资助。基金主要来自「唇颚裂治疗计划」的受惠者的捐款。
  • 「爱能改变生命」社区教育计划 - 透过制作多款宣传单张丶在网上发放及定期更新唇颚裂资料丶社区教育展览丶港铁月台灯箱广告及Roadshow宣传短片等向公众作推广及教育,加强市民大众对对新生患儿的认识,「非手术性矫形」对新生患儿外观的改善,及协会为患儿家长提供的全面支援服务,以鼓励准父母接纳唇颚裂胎儿,减少终止妊娠;同时亦传递接纳丶共融及平等机会的讯息。

本会并没有稳定的经费资助,七成运作经费来自卖旗日筹款活动,及社会人士捐助,其馀则透过服务项目申请基金资助。

最新消息


More